Administrative division

Until 1795, Białowieża was a part of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, a part of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth. In 1795, due to the partitioning of Poland, the territory was claimed by Russia. The Jewish settlement in Białowieża coincided with this period. During the First World War, Białowieża was occupied by the German Empire, in the interwar period (1918-1939) it belonged to Poland, only to be occupied once again by the Soviets during the beginning of the II World War and by Germans from 1941.


Detailed administrative division:

  • till 1795  Brest Litovsk Voivodeship; the Grand Duchy of Lithuania; Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth
  • 1795 – 1915 Russia, from 1802 Grodno Governorate, Pruzhany Poviat, Russia
  • 17.08.1915 – December 1918 German Empire occupation
  • 1918/1919 Lithuanian administration
  • 1919 – Poland, from 12.12.1920 to 1.08.1922, Białowieski Poviat, Białostockie Voivodeship, Poland
  • 1922-1939 Bielski Poviat, Białostockie Voivodeship, Poland
  • 1939 -June 1940 Russian occupation, Hajnowski region (County), Brest Region, Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic
  • 27.06.1941-17.07.1944 German occupation, Bezirk Białystok (German for "region of Białystok")
  • 17.07.1944 – today Poland, municipality Białowieża, Hajnowski Poviat, Podlaskie Voivodeship